Author Topic: Ancestry Lookups  (Read 35765 times)

bnezzy

Ancestry Lookups
« on: August 21, 2008, 10:00:53 AM »
I have a subsciption to Ancestry.co.uk, I am willing to do any lookups, just leave the details here

Bill

jp08

Re: Ancestry Lookups
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2008, 03:06:47 PM »
It won't be of great use to Norn Iron people however, although they have recently added the Griffiths Valuations (available for free elsewhere) and they do have military records (although these are sadly incomplete due to the WW2 fires).

It would be great if they got their hands on the Ireland BMD data (what there is of it) if only to avoid the money I've been chucking at www.irish-roots.ie.

I curse the 1922 fires every week - not quite up there with the destruction of the Great Library of Alexandria but it was the loss of 1000 years of documented history and people. Terrible.

Genfan

« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2008, 06:01:56 PM »
A friend gave me a year's subscription to Ancesty, and I have had a ball tracing my American side of the family back to Europe.  It has not helped me with my Irish side however. Still, it is a nice offer, and perhaps someone can get some help!  :)

scarletmill

« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2008, 05:52:16 PM »
Hi bnezzy
That is really nice to offer other forum members, I was wondering if you could have a rummage around for me. My gg granda Robert McClinton was the head of house in until 1929 when his daughter Alicia took over in 1930 so I assume that he died during this period but I can't find any record of his death. I have left details with the City Cemetery (OpenDay) but its a long haul when I don't have the exact date (he isn't in the Shankill Rest or Clifton). He lived in 118 Cambrai Street with his wife Mary Ann, daughter and grandson Samuel. Hope that your check can prove more fruitful than mine.

June

McClinton, Boyd, McMullan, McClay, Harrison, Stafford, McVeigh
McClinton, Boyd, McCreight (Belfast, Ballyhill, and Carmoney)