Author Topic: Changes in local government districts  (Read 316 times)


  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17204
Changes in local government districts
« on: September 17, 2008, 12:26:53 PM »
The boundaries and names of NI's proposed new local government districts have been unveiled.

Belfast is to take parts of Lisburn, including Twinbrook and Poleglass, and areas of Castlereagh council.

The Slievecroob area of County Down is to be incoproparted into a single council area of Newry City and Down.

There will be one councillor per ward. Belfast will have sixty wards and all other council areas will have forty.

In general, where two councils are grouped together, such as Antrim and Newtownabbey, the names will be amalgamated.

Where there are more than two, new district council names will appear like Causeway Coast, Mid-Antrim and Mid-Ulster.

The number of councils has fallen from twentysix to eleven.

The Local Government Boundaries Commissioner Dick MacKenzie said he had not taken political considerations into account and had not spoken to any politicians.

"The publication of my report is the first stage of a process which is designed to establish the district and ward boundaries for a completely new configuration of local government in Northern Ireland," he said.

"The proposed boundaries of the districts are based on the amalgamation of the existing councils, with the exception of Belfast for which I am recommending a revised boundary to reflect the expansion of the city over the years."

There will now be an eight week period for the submission of written comments followed by eleven public hearings until the end of November. It is up to the Northern Ireland Assembly to give its final approval.


Belfast City Council

Derry City and Strabane District Council

Armagh City and Bann District Council

Lisburn City and Castlereagh District Council

Newry City and Down District Council

Antrim and Newtownabbey District Council

Ards and North Down District Council

Causeway Coast District Council

Fermanagh and Omagh District council

Mid-Antrim District Council

Mid-Ulster District Council

Source: BBC NEWS