Author Topic: James Mackie & Sons  (Read 1001350 times)

Paul.W

Re: James Mackie & Sons
« Reply #15 on: April 02, 2009, 08:14:22 PM »
hi leaky,    sorry to hear about Ernie, he was my rate fixer the 10 years i worked in mackies, tough but fair wee man, he was a good sailor if i remember correct. sam.
Hi Leaky and Melv I remember Ernie lovely man had some run ins with him over times ha ha but sorry to hear about him passing away. 

tboy

« Reply #16 on: April 02, 2009, 08:23:00 PM »
I worked in Mackies in 1967, in the B.A.M.department.  All I remember about it was, I used to work a machine that drilled holes in aluminium plates.
thank you teragram, talk about manufactured jobs, there you have it.at the time i asked a contempory(we lived in a mixed estate) what exactly did he do? he didn,t know! :)

Paul.W

« Reply #17 on: April 02, 2009, 08:26:23 PM »
Hi Melv I worked in the Card shop I was a 3rd year apprentice fitter then one time we had very little work and wee Joe sent me next door to subs  ( bench work ) and the foreman was Blair Travara what a ??? he was
I got out of there and went onto the wetring spinning I remember Harry ok but the foreman I remember was
Jimmy Gray do you know him?.

canadianeh08

« Reply #18 on: April 02, 2009, 08:32:04 PM »
my dad worked in the main factory on the springfield rd he worked in Store A I think,,,His name was Isaac Moore...think it was around 1970-1980s when he retired....anyone know him

Liz51

« Reply #19 on: April 02, 2009, 08:32:29 PM »
does anyone remember a mardo murphy that work there

melv

« Reply #20 on: April 03, 2009, 12:06:11 AM »
Hi Melv I worked in the Card shop I was a 3rd year apprentice fitter then one time we had very little work and wee Joe sent me next door to subs  ( bench work ) and the foreman was Blair Travara what a ??? he was
I got out of there and went onto the wetring spinning I remember Harry ok but the foreman I remember was
Jimmy Gray do you know him?.