Author Topic: Why did you leave Northern Ireland during the Troubles?  (Read 18214 times)

lauren-mcc

Why did you leave Northern Ireland during the Troubles?
« on: February 24, 2010, 11:20:54 PM »
Hi,

Im a university student doing a dissertation on emigration during the Troubles and am wanting to find out why people left during this period? Was it mainly economic/personal reasons (that might have existed before the 70's), or was it a response to the problems in Northern Ireland at the time? Basically, to what extent did the Troubles influence your decision to emigrate?

Thanks for any responses!

barry

Re: Why did you leave Northern Ireland during the Troubles?
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2010, 11:32:00 PM »
NOW  is;nt  that  a  good  topic,   :scratch_ones_head: :unsure: :unsure:
THAT'S  THE  WAY  I  SEE  IT, THAT'S  THE  WAY I  TELL  IT.

David (Joe) Martin

« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2010, 03:16:00 AM »
I came from a traditional "loyalist" family and worked in "the yard".  I married one of the "others".  In the early days of the conflict and shortly after my daughter was born I was approached by 3 gentleman that I didn't know.  They had a list of names and they showed me some hardwear and offered me 20 minutes to clear out of the yard.  I went home and immediatly contacted Australia House to escape.  Some of the workers travelling from Lisburn down through Andersonstown must have spied me catching a bus and put 2 and 2 together and proclaimed me one of the enemy.  My mates in the yard suggested that I get back to work and they would look after me.  As if they could! I though that no matter how much I loved Belfast it was reason to clear out.   :swoon: :swoon: :swoon:

twocoats

« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2010, 04:16:22 AM »
Hi,