Author Topic: Beersbridge Road. East Belfast  (Read 44788 times)

eddiec

Re: Beersbridge Road. East Belfast
« Reply #15 on: August 06, 2006, 03:54:34 PM »
its it true the conn o'neil bridge was the oldest in Belfast hence the connswater river, or the connsy as locals refer to it as? ???

The river is called the Conn's water supposedly after Conn O'Neill the bridge is the connswater bridge
Get your facts first, and then you can distort them as much as you please.  <i>Mark Twain</i>

eddiec

« Reply #16 on: August 06, 2006, 04:00:21 PM »
the owen o cork mill on the beersbridge was between steens row and east bread st .

I remember working in one of the clothing factories in the mills over 20 years ago when in a previous life I worked as a decorator. Boy was it dirty...  :) all the dirt and fluff etc from the clothes ended up on the top of cupboards, clothing racks etc and I dont know what living in it... I had to scrub and wash my clothes on getting home every night  :)
Get your facts first, and then you can distort them as much as you please.  <i>Mark Twain</i>

Christopher

« Reply #17 on: August 06, 2006, 04:22:25 PM »
Here's a great interview with Bobby Cosgrove who was raised in the Beersbridge Road - Holywood Arches area. Among the people he mentions are Pastor Joe Glover and his wife Martha, Horse Cunningham, Willy John Stephenson, Minnie Cooper and George Best. 

ulsterstan

« Reply #18 on: August 31, 2006, 05:36:31 AM »