Author Topic: Short Strand. East Belfast  (Read 286740 times)

A.T

Re: Short Strand. East Belfast
« Reply #1185 on: June 04, 2017, 10:44:19 PM »
frankie, I totally forgot about Anthony Thompson, there were other Thompsons on the mountpottinger rd as well, Dessie, lived in 99

I think that's my uncle

Did Dessie have brothers called Arthur and James ..and sisters called Mary ,Pauline , Brenda , Bernadette ?

A.T

« Reply #1186 on: June 04, 2017, 11:04:40 PM »
I have traced my family (Keegan) back to the Short Strand in the 1900's and beyond.  My Grt Aunt was Margaret Keegan married to William O'Hara and was living in Vulcan Street in 1911.  My Grt Grandfather (Thomas Keegan) was living with her after she was married.  My Grt Uncle James Keegan lived in Altcar Street, James was Thomas brother.

As I have always seen myself as an Ulster Scot, I am really chuffed to see my background is not what I always thought.  If anyone can help me add to the family history I would be very grteful.

Did your great uncle James marry a Rose lynch by chance ?

Mary K Rossi

« Reply #1187 on: September 01, 2017, 03:02:40 PM »
All - Check out "Friends of Short Strand, Past and Present on Facebook.  Lots of memories there.  Also, Belfast Forum has a page on Facebook too.

Gilmet

« Reply #1188 on: July 15, 2018, 11:58:32 AM »
rep1 khartoum st was at the end off middlepath st  and the start off foundry st
at the end of the st there was a large wall keeping people from the railway tracks
.   Hello frank .my name is Gilbert , my grandparents lived in number 9 Khartoum street ,would have any knowledge of this family ( James Carling was my grandfather,I would like to no more about him,I would appreciate any information , thanks Gilbert.

Margana

« Reply #1189 on: July 15, 2018, 12:40:30 PM »
Gilbert, your grandfather is listed in the 1901 Census at 30 Foundry Street - John, Wife Jane Ann and children Elizabeth, James, Jane Ann, Michael, Thomas, Charles and 5 boarders!

Gilmet