Author Topic: BALLROOMS and DANCES of Belfast  (Read 10887 times)

Bronagh123

BALLROOMS and DANCES of Belfast
« on: October 04, 2015, 11:49:44 PM »
Hi Everyone

I am a Queens Student here in Belfast and i am currently researching the Ballrooms and Dances of Belfast. So far i have come across, Sammy Houstons, CLARKES, The Astor Ballroom, Betty Staffs, Boom Boom Room, Fiesta Ballroom, Gala Ballroom, Maritime Ballroom, Maxims Ballroom, Orchid Ballroom, Orpheus Ballroom, Plaza Ballroom and Romanos Ballroom.

Basically i am looking to know a few different things about the different Ballrooms;

1:How they were run, Management? what did you have to pay? what time where they over at?

2:what the Architecture of these buildings where, what the interior decor was, colour scheme, type of furniture (layout), something special you remember from it. Construction?

3: Social Aspect of the Dances and Ballroom dancing?

4: Did members of religious communities marshal events? if so how? what was expected?

5: What where the big show bands that appeared in the venue?

6: Does anyone have pictures of the buildings themselves?

7: How do you feel Dances and Ballrooms was represented through Belfast?

If anyone could help me with this research it would be greatly appreciated.

Many Thanks.

Bigali

Re: BALLROOMS and DANCES of Belfast
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2015, 12:15:23 AM »
Welcome to the forum Bronagh123, interesting subject , why the interest in such a thing ?
Support Soldier F Support Soldier B

The courageous deeds and sacrifices of the RUC and UDR must never be airbrushed from history .

Bronagh123

« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2015, 09:20:21 AM »
Hi Bigali

Currently i have started my masters in architecture in Belfast at Queens and we are researching Belfast in a lot of depth. Im looking at how dance has developed in the city and how the city developed around dance. Significantly i thought i would ask the people of Belfast themselves as they are the ones that experienced it.