Author Topic: Johnston Family of Shankill area  (Read 1169 times)

marjoy

Johnston Family of Shankill area
« on: January 17, 2019, 03:31:15 PM »
Hello, we are looking for the family of John Johnston born in Belfast in 1913 to John Johnston and Mary nee Johnston. He came to England before 1936 when he married Ivy Thompson in West Ham, London. He was an engineer by trade as was his father. His parents lived at 72 Orkney Street in 1913. We know he had an uncle Edward Johnston who married Ellen Gregg, and they had a daughter Sarah aka Sally, who emigrated to America. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

CMcG

Re: Johnston Family of Shankill area
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2019, 05:52:26 PM »
Hello :)

If the following 1910 marriage is a possibility ...
https://civilrecords.irishgenealogy.ie/churchrecords/images/marriage_returns/marriages_1910/09997/5635629.pdf

... then this 1911 census return looks like the parents (John Johnston & Margaret Baxter) & siblings ...
http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/pages/1911/Antrim/St__Anne_s_Ward/Glenmachan_Street/160712/

And in 1901 ...
http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/pages/1901/Antrim/Shankill_Ward/Leopold_Street/984966/

Do you think this is the right line and is it the sort of information you are seeking?

CMcG

« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2019, 03:04:56 AM »

... We know he had an uncle Edward Johnston who married Ellen Gregg, and they had a daughter Sarah aka Sally, who emigrated to America. Any help would be greatly appreciated ...