Author Topic: Montgomery family - Enniskillen St / Pernau St  (Read 1144 times)

Debglos

Montgomery family - Enniskillen St / Pernau St
« on: February 05, 2021, 07:57:11 PM »

What do you want to do ?Copy
Hi everyone, curious newbie here.[/size]  [/size]Looking and learning at the moment.[/size]  Any Monty(s) out there or do you know any who could be related.[/size]

[/size]
I am from the UK but my mum & her side of the family are from Belfast.  My mum's maiden name was Montgomery & her birth certificate states that she was born at 20, Enniskillen St.  Belfast in 1934. Thanks to this wonderful site, I have found the Lennon Wylie directory but not anything for 1934.  I have found two Montgomery families registered for this St in 1932 but not the same house number.   ??? So could be relatives of my grandfather ??  I am aware that Enniskillen St no longer exists but thought I might find a pic or something on google but nothing!  [/font]

[/font]
Thank you to Bread Basket in helping me find 20 Enniskillen St, looks like my mum was born in the hospital and her parents resided with my Grt grt grt grandmother or older relative.  [/font]

Debglos

Re: Montgomery family - Enniskillen St / Pernau St
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2021, 07:58:46 PM »
Sorry for lot's of posts.  Limited to character count.

My grandparents moved to the UK to find work and the children (young Monty and Elsie) were left to live with their granny. They grew up at 44, Pernau St with her.  I found confirmation she lived their in the Wylies Directory.  Also, before my mum developed Alzheimer's, she used to tell us stories about growing up there.  We visited Belfast approx 2010/2011 and went to find the house but the street had been modernised, it was still there, so not all was lost in memories. My mum came to UK at approx 11 years old, so possibly after the war had ended ??  My uncle said his granny died just shy of his 18th birthday, so I think she (Mary) may have passed around 1949

Debglos